RSS

Getting Closer to the 2013 “Homefront”

29 Sep

My late father, Sgt Emmett “Ted” Harvey Lyons

My current academic quest, the study of the Second World War–the search for my father’s Second World War, began in earnest back in 2010 with acceptance to the American Military University’s Graduate School of Arts and Humanities. American is currently the only university to offer a Master’s degree in history, with a concentration in the  history of World War II; when I discovered this learning opportunity I jumped  at the chance.

In early 2013 I begin the arduous but determined task of writing my final thesis–the last hurdle needed to fulfill graduation requirements–on the largely overlooked and underappreciated Battle of Okinawa. Sgt. Ted Lyons, my late father, would have liked my choice. Although his three years of island fighting in the south Pacific brought him no further northward than the  Philippines, he would have appreciated the importance of this topic. The battle for Okinawa was the largest land, air, and sea battle in history. The US  Marines suffered more than twice the number of casualties on Okinawa than on Iwo Jima and Guadalcanal–combined. The US Navy lost more men and ships at Okinawa than any  other battle of the war. As the last stepping-stone to Japan in 1945, its importance cannot be overstated.

I like to think that he has been with me along (what will have been) my three-year journey through the history of World War Two. There were times when I thought I could not go any further, and he “lifted me up by my pack” and encouraged me to continue on … hey Sarge, can I get your help one last time?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2012 in WWII in the Pacific

 

6 responses to “Getting Closer to the 2013 “Homefront”

  1. Jim McAndrew

    September 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Marine,

    I like this. Stay with it. Finish the job. Semper Fi.

    Jim

    On Sat, Sep 29, 2012 at 10:26 AM, In Search of my Father’s Second World War

     
    • Scott M.H. Lyons

      October 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      Thanks Jim–I can see the finish line.

       
  2. navyphoto22

    September 30, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Good luck Scott! Stay with it, and send me a copy of that paper when you’re done, I’d love to read it! Guy

     
    • Scott M.H. Lyons

      October 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      Thank you Guy–I sure will.

       
  3. Melissa Marsh

    October 20, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    So awesome that you went back to school to fulfill a dream. Proud of you!

     
    • Scott M.H. Lyons

      October 20, 2012 at 4:15 pm

      Thank you Melissa. I am sorry to see school coming to an end this new year–I will miss the camaraderie, structure, and history. I’ve read books on topics I never would have picked up otherwise. I’ve also found school to be very therapeutic–it gives you an additional personna. Our passions, interests, and goals define who we are–not our jobs. For me, that is the biggest takeaway.

       

Leave a Reply

 
