RSS

A History Writer’s Greatest Reward

23 Nov
Marines_land_on_Okinawa_shores

From the National Archives: U.S. Marines wade ashore to support the beachhead on Okinawa, 1 April 1945.

After many days of contemplation, I had decided to leave the MBA program to devote all of my free time away from IBM to begin rough drafts for my book on war in the Pacific during 1945. Although I came away with an ‘A’ in the first MBA course, I had realized mid-way through the second class that my passion is for research and writing history of the Second World War. With all due respect to, and admiration for my MBA-credentialed friends and colleagues, I found the advanced study of business dull and uninspiring.

Over the past few weeks I could “hear the voices” of Eugene Sledge, Robert Leckie, John Basilone, and my late father Ted Lyons; Roy Geiger, Chester Nimitz, and Joseph Stilwell all calling out to me—reawakening my desire to finally start the book. I had the opportunity to spend two weekends in January of 2012 and 2013 interviewing a U.S. Marine veteran of Okinawa and his wife for my graduate thesis in history. Their insights and thoughts were invaluable; they added depth and understanding to that final work which it otherwise may have lacked. I miss visiting with Mr. and Mrs. Bailey (at the time of this entry they are both still alive and well), and the research process itself. It was without question a most rewarding accomplishment. My hope is that completing this book will be an even more gratifying experience. There is much more history to tell about the war in the Pacific in 1945 … I look forward to the challenge. To give eternal voice to those whom can no longer speak is a history writer’s greatest reward.

Scott Lyons

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 23, 2013 in WWII in the Pacific

 

One response to “A History Writer’s Greatest Reward

  1. Jim McAndrew

    November 25, 2013 at 7:56 am

    Achieving and A in your MBA class is not a shock to me, but it demonstrates your ability to comprehend the material but also your good judgement to listen to your calling and concentrate your talents in the area that your passion truly lies. Now is the time to strap on your gear, forge ahead and write the epic, Okinawa, that is pent up inside you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
